Archive | March 2018

Morriston Hospital League of Friends Presentation – 28th March 2018

Presentation of ten Arvada patient Chairs to ward J Musculoskeletal Directorate

costing £8,700. Ward Matron is Ms Cecilia Carpenter.

League of Friends Publicity Officer Douglas Thomas said: “Many patients will benefit from these new Arvada chairs at Morriston Hospital. The new chairs are high back with cushions and adjustable for a patients fit. The League has over 70 years raised more than £2,100,000 to buy new hospital equipment and support the wonderful work that is carried out at this hospital on a weekly basis. We are always grateful for the generous support we get from the people of Swansea and the surrounding areas when fundraising to buy this vital equipment for Morriston Hospital.

Images of Arvada chairsPresentation of Arvada Patient Chairs to MSK

The following people were at the presentation and in the picture:-

Mr Douglas G Thomas, League of Friends Publicity Officer

Mrs Jean Fowler, League of Friends Committee member

Mrs Heulwen James, League of Friends Committee member

Mrs Patricia Hughes, League of Friends Secretary

Mrs Sian Harris Williams, League of Friends Treasurer

Mr John Hughes MBE, Chairman League of Friends

Reverend Lance Sharpe, Hospital Chaplain

Jonathan Phillips, Charge Nurse, Morriston Hospital

Lukasz Sejboth, Physiotherapist, Morriston Hospital

Ms Cecilia Carpenter, Matron, Musculoskeletal Directorate, Morriston Hospital

The Colin Rees award 10th March 2018

This award was presented by the High Sheriff of West Glamorgan Mrs Louise Fleet JP on 10th March 2019 at Baglan Community Church. Mrs Fleet had been inspired by the work of the League of Friends and wanted to give the High Sheriff’s Special Award to volunteering and the community – the Colin Rees Award. Pictured from left are Patricia Hughes Secretary, John A Hughes MBE Chairman, Mrs Louise Fleet JP High Sheriff, Mrs Sian Harris Williams Treasurer, Jean Fowler, Heulwen James and Douglas Thomas Publicity Officer.

The Colin Rees Award 10.3.2018